CfP: Reparations and slaveries / Revue « Esclavages et post-esclavages / Slaveries and post-slaveries »

Call for papers, deadline 1 September 2020


Special issue “Reparations and slaveries” (No. 5, October 2021)


  • Magali Bessone (université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne, ISJPS, CIRESC)
  • Ary Gordien (université de Paris, LARCA, CIRESC)


This issue of the journal Esclavages & Post~esclavages/Slaveries & Post~Slaveries is about reparation claims related to the slave trade and chattel slavery in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. This issue aims to comprehend how contemporary social actors link the history of slavery to contemporary debates in order to address the reproduction of unequal geopolitical, social and racial relations. This raises two questions:

  • From theoretical, moral and juridical standpoints, how are reparations defined and justified in the different national contexts and through the transnational circulations of ideas and people?
  • What social actors and institutions represent the reparation movement? What actions to they undertake and what results do they expect from it or have they been able to obtain thus far?

Esclavages & Post~esclavages/Slaveries & Post~slaveries invites scholars from all disciplines of the humanities and social sciences (history, literature, anthropology, sociology, philosophy, political sciences and law) and who explore all geographic areas to submit an abstract to respond to these two research questions and address the various issues they raise. Investigating reparations and exploring claims that are emitted and received either in a national context or at a transnational level updates scholars’ understanding of slavery, as they re-examine aspects they take for granted while highlighting the link with the present.

Terms of submission

Proposals (500 to 800 words) must be sent to by September 1st, 2020. The proposals can be written in French or English.

Prospective contributors will be notified of their paper’s acceptance on September 15th, 2020.

Accepted papers (in French, English, Spanish, or Portuguese) must be sent by December 1st, 2020 and will be subject to double-blind peer review. The maximum calibration (including spaces, notes and the bibliography) is 45,000 characters including spaces.

Our note to contributors is available online.

Final versions of the texts will be sent by June 1st, 2021.

Editorial team of the journal

Editors in chief

  • Myriam Cottias (CNRS) & Céline Flory (CNRS)

Editorial Committee

  • António de Almeida Mendes (université de Nantes)
  • Cédric Audebert (CNRS)
  • Magali Bessone (université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne)
  • Gaetano Ciarcia (CNRS)
  • Elisabeth Cunin (IRD)
  • Ary Gordien (université Paris 8)
  • Martha Jones (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Jean-Pierre Le Glaunec (université de Sherbrooke)
  • Beatriz Mamigonian (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina)
  • Hebe Mattos (Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora)
  • Jean-Christophe Monferran (CNRS)
  • Lotte Pelckmans (université de Copenhague)
  • Dominique Rogers (université des Antilles)
  • Anna Seiderer (université Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint-Denis)
  • Alessandro Stanziani (CNRS / EHESS)
  • Ibrahima Thioub (université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar)

International Committee

  • Ana Lucia Araujo (université d’Howard, EU)
  • Mads Anders Baggesgaard (université d’Aarhus, Danemark)
  • Gwyn Campbell (Mac Gill University, Montréal, Canada)
  • Mariana Candido (University of Notre-Dame, EU)
  • Catherine Coquery-Vidrovitch (université Paris 7 Denis-Diderot)
  • Madeleine Dobie (Columbia University, EU)
  • Roquinaldo Ferreira (Brown University, EU)
  • Alejandro de la Fuente (Harvard University, EU)
  • Chouki El Hamed University of Arizona, EU)
  • Aline Helg (université de Genève, Suisse)
  • Paulin J. Hountondji (université d’Abomey-Calavi, Bénin)
  • Martin Klein (University of Toronto, Canada)Jane Landers (Vanderbilt University, EU)
  • Paul Lovejoy (York University, Canada)
  • Joel Quirk (université de Witwatersrand, Afrique du Sud)
  • Benedetta Rossi (University of Birmingham, Grande-Bretagne)
  • Dale Tomich (University of Binghamton, EU)
  • Michael Zeuske (université de Leipzig, Allemagne)

Editorial Secretary

  • Chloé Beaucamp (CNRS)