Second International newspapers, online

Vorwärts, Berlin, 1907

This is a list of newspapers/journals of social democratic parties in the years of the Second International (1889-1914) that are accessible online, for free.

The list is a work-in-progress, and we expect to enlarge it with more titles. Please let us know at info@socialhistoryportal.org about other links that we might include. Please also inform us if you notice a broken link.

  

AUSTRALIA

The Socialist (Melbourne): https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/title/1322#

International Socialist (Sydney): https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/title/491

The Tocsin: https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/title/961

The Australian Workman: http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-title1051

The International Socialist: https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/title/491

The Worker (Brisbane): http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-title191

 

AUSTRIA

Arbeiter-Zeitung: http://anno.onb.ac.at/cgi-content/anno?aid=aze

Der Kampf: http://anno.onb.ac.at/cgi-content/anno-plus?aid=dks

 

BELGIUM

Vooruit: http://opac.amsab.be/Record/Tijdschriften_400000183/HierarchyTree?record...

Le Peuple: https://opac.kbr.be/Library/doc/SYRACUSE/16155305/

 

DENMARK

Demokraten: https://www2.statsbiblioteket.dk/mediestream/avis/list/doms_newspaperAut...

Social-Demokraten: https://www2.statsbiblioteket.dk/mediestream/avis/list/doms_newspaperAut...

 

FRANCE

L’Humanité: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb327877302/date

La Petite République: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb345185020/date

La Revue Socialiste: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb32861464v/date&rk=21459;2

Le Mouvement Socialiste: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb34425483v/date&rk=21459;2

La Vie Socialiste: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb328893836/date&rk=21459;2

Le Devenir Social: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb34387909c/date&rk=21459;2

 

GERMANY

Berliner Volksblatt: http://fes.imageware.de/fes/web/

Berliner Volks-Tribüne: http://fes.imageware.de/fes/web/

Danziger Volksstimme: http://library.fes.de/inhalt/digital/danziger-volksstimme.htm

Danziger Volkswacht: http://library.fes.de/inhalt/digital/danziger-volkswacht.htm

Der Funke: http://library.fes.de/inhalt/digital/funke/funke.html

Der wahre Jacob: https://digi.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/diglit/wj

Die Arbeiterin: http://fes.imageware.de/fes/web/

Die Gleichheit: http://fes.imageware.de/fes/web/

Die Neue Zeit: http://library.fes.de/nz/index.html

Leipziger Volkszeitung: https://digital.slub-dresden.de/werkansicht/dlf/141582/1/

Lübecker Volksbote: http://library.fes.de/inhalt/digital/volksbote-luebeck.htm

Sozialistische Monatshefte: http://library.fes.de/sozmon/index.html

Volksstimme (Magdeburg): http://library.fes.de/inhalt/digital/volksstimme-magdeburg.htm

Vorwärts: http://fes.imageware.de/fes/web/

 

ITALY

Avanti: https://avanti.senato.it/controller.php?page=archivio-pubblicazione

La lotta di classe: http://bibliotecadigitale.fondazionebasso.it/?c=lotta&cont=1

Rassegna socialista: http://bibliotecadigitale.fondazionebasso.it/?c=1893&cont=1

Propaganda: http://bibliotecadigitale.fondazionebasso.it/?c=propaganda&cont=1

Critica Sociale: http://www.bibliotecaginobianco.it/?e=flip&id=12&t=elenco-flipping-Criti...

Il Socialismo: http://www.bibliotecaginobianco.it/?e=flip&id=16&t=elenco-flipping-Il+So...

 

NETHERLANDS

De Tribune: https://bit.ly/3ckshyg

De Nieuwe Tijd: https://bit.ly/3t6awIU

Het Volk (Amsterdam) https://bit.ly/2YkXokL

 

SERBIA

Radničke novine: http://www.unilib.rs/istorijske-novine/pregled-lat?category=PREWWI&newspaper=NLS_00001

 

SPAIN

El Socialista: http://archivo.fpabloiglesias.es/index.php?r=hemeroteca/ElSocialista

 

SWEDEN

Social-Demokraten: https://tidningar.kb.se/?q=social-demokraten&newspaper=SOCIALDEMOKRATEN&...

 

SWITZERLAND

La Sentinelle: https://www.e-newspaperarchives.ch/?a=cl&cl=CL1&e=-------de-20--1--img-t...

Der Grütlianer: https://www.e-newspaperarchives.ch/?a=cl&cl=CL1&e=-------en-20--1--img-t...

 

UNITED KINGDOM

Justice (1893-1894): https://www.marx-memorial-library.org.uk/digital-resource-type/justice

 

UNITED STATES

The People: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/the-people-slp/index.htm

The Chicago Daily Socialist: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/chicago-daily-socialist/1906/i...

Appeal to Reason: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/appeal-to-reason/

International Socialist Review: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/isr/index.htm

The Class Struggle/Advance: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/class-struggle-advance/index.htm

The Workers’ Call/The Chicago Socialist: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/workers-call-chicago-socialist/index.htm

Die Wahrheit: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/die-wahrheit-us/index.htm

The Social Democratic Herald: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/social-democratic-herald-us/index.htm

The Socialist Woman: https://www.marxists.org/history/usa/pubs/socialist-woman/index.htm

 

[Last updated 28 March 2021]