International Conference: Social History of Capitalism

Conference, 10-12 October 2022, online

University of Bonn, 10-12 October 2022


The International Social History Association (ISHA), the Bonn Centre for Dependency and Slavery Studies (BCDSS), and the Cluster of Excellence “Contestations of the Liberal Script” convene the International Conference “Social History of Capitalism”. The conference will run fully virtually.


The organizers suggest the need to work with a broad concept of capitalism, not restricted to the modern industrial (or post-industrial) world, but including for example the study of merchant, financial and agrarian capitalism, and recent developments like “investors’ capitalism” or “platform capitalism”. Moreover, the conference seeks to explore the rise, domination, regulation and decay of capitalist practices across time, and aims to address the alternatives to capitalism that have been developed and/or imagined historically.


The conference program includes: three keynote speeches by Jürgen Kocka (Berlin), Eileen Boris (Santa Barbara, California), and Samita Sen (Cambridge); and one roundtable on the strategies for the development of a new social history.


If you wish to participate in the conference, please send an email by Sunday 2 October 2022 to and indicate if you wish to participate online or in person.





10 October 2022


3:00:3:30 pm CET


Marcel van der Linden and Rossana Barragán (co-presidents of the ISHA)


3:30 pm-5:30 pm CET

Keynote speaker    Jürgen Kocka (Berlin)

Discussant:             Nicole Mayer-Ahuja (Göttingen)



11 October 2022


3:00pm – 5:00pm CET

Keynote speaker:  Eileen Boris (Santa Barbara, Cal.)

Discussant:             Peter Drucker (Rotterdam)                   


5:15 pm-7:15 pm CET

Discussion “Engendering of the social history of capitalism”

Keynote speaker:   Samita Sen (Cambridge)

Discussant:             Eileen Boris (Santa Barbara, Cal.)



12 October 2022


2:00 pm-4:00 pm CET

Roundtable: Preliminary conclusions for ISHA’s substantive strategy


·       Christian De Vito (Bonn)

·       Andreas Eckert (Berlin)

·       Amarjit Kaur (Armidale)